By the 1930’s the Carnegie library was accommodating about 1,500 more books than it was built for. The first floor, which was divided into four separate “reading rooms” were starting to look like more of a children’s library than an all ages facility. However, the Carnegie did have a lower level that was unused. The space had previously been used for staff rooms and storage. In 1934 the decision was made to convert that basement space into a children’s department. In honor of the years of hard work and dedication that Sarah Temple had shown the library (she was at the meeting that called for the creation of a library in 1900) the room was dedicated in her name. The junior library was refurnished with extravagant features that were not originally conceived of during the original Carnegie grants. The room would have a fireplace as well as several glass locking cases, and a mural. Steps were created outside the building so that the children could enter the library directly through the Junior Library. The total cost to refurbish the basement was $515.70. By 1940, the children of Upland had their own circulation statistic of 17,000 items per year. This space remained dedicated to children until the new building was built in 1969. (Photo shows children enjoying a story in the Sarah Temple Junior Library).
The cost break down for the Junior Library. This is a fascinating look at the price of materials in the mid 1930's.
The floorplan for the Junior Library. Today, the room is set up much the same. The fireplace, however, is now white painted bricks.